Past Winners

Search all years and Public Service Award winners using this form.

For biographies and photos of recent winners, download the brochures linked below.



Brochures with detailed information about winners:

20162013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004


Harriet Taub, 2017

Harriet Taub

Executive Director, Materials for the Arts, Department of Cultural Affairs.

Called a true leader in "creative reuse," Taub exemplifies the term "going above and beyond."

In a 35,000 square foot warehouse in Long Island City, Harriet Taub presides over Materials for the Arts (MFTA). Each year she and her staff of 17 and a 1,000 volunteers collect and redistribute almost 2 million pounds of materials that would otherwise end up in a landfill. Over 4,000 member organizations including dance, theater and arts groups, afterschool programs, public libraries, and thousands of public school teachers put the fabric, paper, trim and notions and office supplies to creative use. In addition, MFTA is among the city's largest providers of professional development courses in arts education for NYC school teachers and others. Called a true leader in "creative reuse," Taub exemplifies the term "going above and beyond."


Core Programs

Cash Flow Loans

Partner Project Program

Technology Consulting

Sloan Public Service Awards

2019 Winners

2018 Winners

2017 Winners

2016 Winners

2015 Winners

2014 Winners

2013 Winners

2012 Winners

2011 Winners

About the Program

Nomination Form

Past Winners

Sloan Awards for Excellence in Teaching Science and Mathematics

NYC Community Planning Fellows